People

Principal Investigator

Dr. Sid Kumar

Assistant Professor, Principal Investigator
Department of Materials Science and Engineering
Delft University of Technology

Office: 34 H-4-200, Mekelweg 2, 2628 CD Delft
Email: Sid.Kumar@tudelft.nl
CV | Google Scholar | Twitter

PhD & Postdoc researchers

Prakash Thakolkaran
PhD Student

Research Topics: machine learning, metamaterial design, design optimization

M.Sc., ETH Zürich, Switzerland, 2021 (Mechanical Engineering)
B.
Sc., ETH Zürich, Switzerland, 2018 (Mechanical Engineering)

Email: P.Thakolkaran@tudelft.nl
Google Scholar

Dr. Akshay Joshi
Postdoctoral Scientist

Research Topics: mechanics of materials, shock physics, computational mechanics, fracture & fatigue

Ph.D., California Institute of Technology, USA, 2021 (Aeronautics)
M.S
., California Institute of Technology, USA, 2018 (Aeronautics)
B.Tech
, Indian Institute of Technology - Madras, India, 2017 (Aerospace Engineering)

Email: A.Joshi@tudelft.nl
Google Scholar

Dr. Saurav Sharma
Postdoctoral Scientist
(co-affiliated with MTT-3mE, TU Delft)

Research Topics: computational mechanics, smart materials & structures, finite element method

Ph.D., Indian Institute of Technology - Mandi, India, 2021 (Mechanical Engineering)
M.
Tech., Malaviya National Institute of Technology, India, 2017 (Design Engineering)
B.Tech. (Hons.), Rajasthan Technical University, India, 201
4 (Mechanical Engineering)

Email: S.Sharma-7@tudelft.nl
Google Scholar

Yaqi Guo
Visiting PhD Student

Research Topics: machine learning, data-driven design and modeling of (meta-)materials, buckling of film/substrate system

Ph.D., Tongji University, China (Mechanics)
B.Sc., Central South University, China, 2017 (Engineering Mechanics)

Email: Y.Guo-4@tudelft.nl

Graduate students

Julia Czarnecka
Master student

Research Topics: tunable bio-mimetic bone scaffolds by spinodal decomposition

B.Sc., University of Manchester, 2020 (Materials Science and Engineering)

Email: J.M.Czarnecka@student.tudelft.nl

Sikko van 't Sant
Master student

Research Topics: metamaterials design, machine learning

B.Sc., Eindhoven University of Technology (Mechanical Engineering)

Email: S.vantSant-1@student.tudelft.nl

Lucy Seager
Master student

Research Topics: data-driven constitutive modeling of biological tissues

B.Sc., University of Manchester, 2019 (Physics)

Email: L.A.Seager@student.tudelft.nl

Efthymios Koutsounanos
Master student

Research Topics: ceramic matrix composite materials, mechanical behavior, multi-scale analysis

B.Sc., Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, 2019 (Physics)

Email: E.Koutsounanos@student.tudelft.nl

Alumni

  • Yiwen Zheng (now PhD Student at University of Washington)


TU Delft, Mekelweg 2, Delft 2628 CD, Netherlands